inset photo

Arunga Park Speedway recently at the Alice Springs Convention Centre celebrated their 2017-18 season with all classes that competed at the Alice Springs, NT venue acknowledged for their achievements at the annual presentation night.

The entre night was a fantastic opportunity for competitors, officials and club members to remember the season that was in a relaxed and fun environment.

Leading the series award winners was Richard Hawkins who took top honours in the Wingless Sprints Series. Junior Sedan racers Shane Greening (All Stars) and Ryan Sanders (New Stars) were both awarded series wins in their respective classes, along with season point score victories, while Bomber racer Simon Nicol was also a clear series and overall point score winner.

Other season point score winners were Corey Greening in the highly competitive Street Stock class, Jarrod Woolcock in the Formula 500s, Lachlan Cole in Sprintcars, Mike Thompson in Wingless Sprints, Cameron Robertson in Speedcars and rounding out the season awards was Rod Calvert in the Quad Bike class.

There were several club-based awards handed out with Nicky Jettner proudly being presented the Life Member Key Ring. Katie Bromley was awarded the Sports Person of the Year, while Cameron Miller had the honour of being announced as the Most Valuable Club Member.

The hard-working Alice Springs Motorsports Fire and Rescue were recognised for their efforts, presented with joint Volunteer of the Year, while in the light-hearted section Jet Thompson was the unlucky recipient of the Wings Award for best roll over.

4 7 2018

With the Annual General Meeting being held just prior to the presentation night, the track would also like to congratulate the following 2018-19 season committee: Garth Thompson - President, Mike Thompson - Vice President, Rod Berry - Public Officer, Nicky Jettner - Secretary, Katie Bromley - Treasurer, Adam Quin, Sam Davis-Swingler and Nick Tregea - Publicity Officers, Sam Davis-Swingler - Sponsorship Liaison, and Josie Hodgins, Luke Richardson, Simon Nicol, Adam Quinn, Brendan Foley, Nick Tregea and Ray Tebeck - Committee Members.

That now concludes the 2017-18 season; however, Arunga Park Speedway’s new season will kick off with the 2018 Dance in the Desert for 410 Sprintcars set down for the Thursday night of August 30. With a prize pool of $20,000 on offer, it is expected a quality field will nominate for the event.

Arunga Park Speedway would like to thank their 2017-18 season sponsors: TDC Refrigeration & Electrical, Tregea Landscaping and Garden Maintenance, Complete Fencing, Cold Zap Air Refrigeration & Electrical Services, Caltex, Tilmouth Well Roadhouse, Alice Springs Metal Recyclers, Cozens Johansen Lawyers, Repco - Alice Springs, G&S Transport, Outback Vehicle Recovery, and Ray Tebeck Auto Electrics.

To find out more about Arunga Park Speedway, visit their website at or JOIN them on Facebook by searching Arunga Park Speedway - Past and Present.